Sandwich Wildlife Park

Sandwich Wildlife Park - opiniones y fotos

Sandwich Wildlife Park
5
De 08:30 AM a 05:00 PM
Lunes
08:30 AM - 05:00 PM
Martes
08:30 AM - 05:00 PM
Miércoles
08:30 AM - 05:00 PM
Jueves
08:30 AM - 05:00 PM
Viernes
08:30 AM - 05:00 PM
Sábado
08:30 AM - 05:00 PM
Domingo
08:30 AM - 05:00 PM
Acerca de
Duración sugerida
1-2 horas
Sugiere ediciones para mejorar lo que mostramos.
Mejorar este perfil
¿Qué es el premio Travellers' Choice?
Tripadvisor les otorga el premio Travellers' Choice a los alojamientos, las atracciones y los restaurantes que consistentemente reciben excelentes opiniones de los viajeros y que se clasifican dentro del 10 % de los establecimientos más populares en Tripadvisor.

5.0
73 opiniones
Excelente
70
Muy bueno
1
Promedio
0
Mala
1
Horrible
1

Vicky
1 aporte
Came away leaving extremly sad and disappointed with our animal experiences!
oct. de 2020 • Familia
The keeper Georgia was in no way enthusiastic or even slightly happy when she greeted us, she walked over looking shy and nervous not even with a jolly Hello, how are you?Are you excited? ...As you of course would expect. She is the head keeper ,very young and although I'm sure she cares about all the animals she seemed to have not interest in speaking to us about the animals unless you want to ask questions then she would answer as a matter of having to. I reminded her that we were strict on the 2 metre distance ( me and my son have serious health problems , my son is only one of 2 at his school who hasn't been able to return to since the beginning of March and we have been doing keeper experiences because we know we can,well usually, until today make sure we have plenty of distance and keep away from the public(around 50 animals/ safaris, keeper for a day /big cat photography course in the past year ) and we have never had a keeper seem so unhappy and look at us like we're stupid when we asked to keep the distance as if we were wrong to be wanting to keep as safe as possible but still have fun. If you haven't done enough of these experiences you might not know the difference but this is not the way the keeper should be making you feel like, especially as these are pretty expensive for the time you get. Some of the information is incorrect online and the routine of what will be happening and you will be doing doesn't happen. It mentions you would get a tour of some of the animals which was only mentioned in a review this month how lovely it was.She didn't once take us to see or discuss any other animal there except that the sloth lives with the tamandua. Change the keeper to someone that actually enjoys mixing with the public and has high confidence levels, both my son and I looked at each other the second we saw her and thought her behaviour wasn't right for someone that is about to come over and greet people!

There needs staff patrolling the cafe area so people can safely get through, queuing the distance and keeping their masks on properly. And simply keeping to the left I told 2 members of the public within 5minutes to wear their mask properly . There needs to be one way entering the park and one way exiting, a good idea would be to open the big gate near the wallabies /parrots for people to exit as you would of completed the park almost by the time you reach there and leads you directly into the car park. A few enclosures need to be bigger-one being the Amur Leapord'

On a positive note the cafe staff, manager and the man on the entrance till were all polite friendly and happy. There was a good selection of food and wait time was acceptable .Animals in general looked well cared for and happy and it's a nice place to go if you're nearby for an hour or more...Weren't to pleased that we had travelled over 2 hours especially to come here for these experiences and left feeling like we did. I hope this ends in her having a serious speaking to and taking her off animal experiences for the sake of others, never written a review but felt extremely seriously about this after being to the point of tears on my journey home.

On a positive
Escrita el 30 de octubre de 2020
Esta opinión es la opinión subjetiva de un miembro de Tripadvisor, no de TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi VLO626, Thank you for visiting the park. I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with the experience, however, I must say that I strongly disagree with much of your review, and here is why. It only takes a very quick search through our reviews to see that there are 14 reviews about experiences (not including this one) which were done by Georgia, all 5 stars, and all saying that she does an amazing job. Georgia is our head keeper for a reason, and this is her abilities, experience, passion, and attitude. She is an absolute asset to the park who always offers a brilliant experience, and I have to say that by the end of doing these 2 experiences with you, she was actually left with her confidence and spirit shattered after the way you belittled her, all until you were in the company of a manager at which point you decided to behave yourself. I do not know if you felt that when Georgia was on her own that she was an easy target, however, you left one of our senior members of staff in flood of tears after looking after you. I would like to tell you that Georgia has NOT had a serious talking to because our manager witnessed the way in which you behaved and we have also corroborated what Georgia has said with other members of staff and our CCTV where possible, and I think it is terrible for you to make these kinds of remarks about someone who did an absolutely brilliant job (as I mentioned above, just check the other reviews - is it not possible that the problem was you rather than her when you read these other comments?) in a public forum which could have an impact on her future in this industry. When you booked these tickets we had already opened the park to the public so the part about the tour is something which you found from one of the reviews, not from our website, which also states that we cannot guarantee the level of contact and that after 15 minutes it will be time to wave goodbye with the experiences you chose. However, Georgia tried to go above and beyond, cutting into the rest of her workday to offer to give you a small tour in the jungle when asked about this. Even though it is no longer something which is included. All we offer is that you get entry to the park for the rest of the day before and after the experience if you wish. Georgia wasn't the only person who was upset with your attitude during the day and we actually had to deal with other members of the public who had been subjected to not being spoken to as you mentioned but shouted at - one of whom was an older gentleman whose mask had just slipped past his nose briefly while he was talking. If this was to protect yourself due to health issues, we were never made aware of this at the time of booking to better inform you and help you choose the perfect experiences with this in mind. Our staff all remarked how difficult it was to serve you on this day, whether it was taking payment, taking your order from halfway across the coffee shop, or trying to mix social distancing with the health and safety measures of doing an experience. It is not possible to always be 2m away while also being in contact with or near animals for your safety and the safety of the animals, which is why we wear face coverings, you wear face coverings and we spent a huge amount of time on making all other aspects of the experience (including disinfecting tools and hands, etc between each experience) as safe as possible. What you did not mention is that when our manager reminded you for the cheetah experience that Georgia would have to be 1 m away from you with all of these health and safety measures in place you agreed with this and stated yes that's fine, 1 m + with the masks is absolutely fine - but then again that wouldn't have fit with the narrative of your review would it? I am happy to hear that you were happy with the park as a whole, the food and the rest of the staff and it really does sadden me to have to write this kind of response however I always feel very passionately about it when people lie about our staff in a way which might affect their career in the future and had we not looked at this properly we could have faced losing one of our valued employees because you had some kind of vendetta against her. On the topic of the park itself, as you mentioned our service gate leads straight into the car park, so we have not left this large gate open as it would leave the potential for a vehicle to get into the park which could be very dangerous, and as it is such a big gate which is outdoors we would not be able to stop everyone coming into the car park to just enter the park for free. This is why we have put in to place a one-way system in the jungle to allow people to rotate through the park while social distancing. In most of the park there is plenty of space for everyone, especially as we have limited the numbers so much. As for the Amur leopard, I would disagree with this as the enclosure was approved by the experts looking after the studbook for this species... I will agree that with this being a new enclosure that in a year or two with some more time for the growth of the plants it will be an even more beautiful exhibit. Many thanks Sandwich Wildlife Park
Escrita el 4 de noviembre de 2020
Esta respuesta es la opinión subjetiva del representante de la gerencia, no de TripAdvisor LLC.

lemurfluff
2 aportes
Incredible!
oct. de 2020 • Solitario
I went here for the lemur experience and I absolutely loved it! The keeper was so friendly and the actual zoo was amazing. I 100% recommend SWP for a day out. You won’t be disappointed!
Escrita el 30 de octubre de 2020
Esta opinión es la opinión subjetiva de un miembro de Tripadvisor, no de TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi lemurfluff, Thank you for reviewing your lemur experience. I'm so glad you loved it and that the keeper accompanying you was amazing. It's always wonderful to be recommended, thank you very much and I hope we can welcome you back again soon. Many thanks, Sandwich Wildlife Park.
Escrita el 2 de noviembre de 2020
Esta respuesta es la opinión subjetiva del representante de la gerencia, no de TripAdvisor LLC.

JRLove2Travel
Reino Unido31 aportes
Worth a visit
oct. de 2020 • Familia
We visited yesterday and wasn’t sure what to expect as the weather wasn’t great and it was raining most of the day. However, it didn’t stop us enjoying our time here. We had lunch in the cafe first which we enjoyed, although they don’t have a childrens option for lunch so we had to pay £4 for a simple jam/ham sandwich.
Some of the animals are undercover, inside which was great on a day like we had! You can tell that this place hasn’t been open long, everything feels quite new and there is a lot of potential for new enclosures.
We fell in love with the tigers and were lucky enough to see them being fed.
All the animals seem happy, well fed and clean.
I think when they have the space a little gift shop would be great. It’s small, not a whole day out but still worth a visit if you’re in the area.
We will definitely be coming back one day.
Escrita el 30 de octubre de 2020
Esta opinión es la opinión subjetiva de un miembro de Tripadvisor, no de TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi JRLove2Travel, Thank you for reviewing your recent visit to our park. I'm so glad that the weather didn't ruin your visit and that you enjoyed your lunch with us too. It's wonderful to know that you fell in love with our tigers Duke and Tora and that you were lucky enough to watch them being fed too. It's always lovely to know that our visitors can see for themselves how well cared for our animals are. I hope we can welcome you back again soon. Many thanks, Sandwich Wildlife Park.
Escrita el 2 de noviembre de 2020
Esta respuesta es la opinión subjetiva del representante de la gerencia, no de TripAdvisor LLC.

emma1989Kent
Dover, UK227 aportes
Lovely little zoo
oct. de 2020 • Familia
When we arrived the staff were very friendly, the zoo was lovely we saw toucan, tigers, Arctic wolves, meerkat and lots of other animals, the animals all looked very happy and looked after. The enclosures was all very nice, the only down side is when u finished looking around you have to walk all the way back through walking towards all the other people which isn't a great idea with the Covid situation, people were getting annoyed with us but it was the only way to get out, we will revisit but not while covid is about as really didn't enjoy trying to get through all of the people, it took around 1 hour to look around so it is a little pricey compared to some places as was £10 each to get in, the cafe was nice and spacious, the staff were very friendly, we got two hot drinks, 2 bottles of coke, fruit shoot, 2 slices of cake and 3 twirls it came to £19.00 so it is a little pricey but didn't mind it as a treat for the kiddies.
Escrita el 30 de octubre de 2020
Esta opinión es la opinión subjetiva de un miembro de Tripadvisor, no de TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi emma1989Kent, Thank you for reviewing our park. It's wonderful to know that you found our staff to all be friendly and that you enjoyed seeing the variety of animals which call our park home. We do recommend setting aside and hour and a half to two hours to walk around and have received lots of feedback from visitors saying that they think £10 is great value so I'm sorry to hear that you disagree with this. Nonetheless its lovely to hear that you do plan on returning to us in the future. Many thanks, Sandwich Wildlife Park.
Escrita el 2 de noviembre de 2020
Esta respuesta es la opinión subjetiva del representante de la gerencia, no de TripAdvisor LLC.

bahons48
Londres, UK4 aportes
Tigers, tigers!
oct. de 2020
Animals look so healthy and well cared for. Penguins a welcome new addition. Tigers absolutely fabulous. Would visit again.
Escrita el 16 de octubre de 2020
Esta opinión es la opinión subjetiva de un miembro de Tripadvisor, no de TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi bahons48, Thank you for your review of our park. It is always lovely to know that our visitors can see for themselves how well cared for and happy our animals are. I'm so glad you enjoyed seeing our new arrivals, the penguins, too and that the tigers Duke and Tora were a highlight of your visit. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Many thanks, Sandwich Wildlife Park
Escrita el 19 de octubre de 2020
Esta respuesta es la opinión subjetiva del representante de la gerencia, no de TripAdvisor LLC.

Celidwen1
Kent, UK204 aportes
Most amazing animal experience ever!
oct. de 2020 • Pareja
This park is truly incredible. I have mobility difficulties and visited today to meet Terry the Tamandua. This park is ideal for people like me, as there's just a very short walk from the car park and through the café to meet the animals.

The café itself is fab, with a brilliant array of drinks and food, and very friendly staff. It's spotless and well worth a visit anyway.

There are chickens and macaws in the car park area, plus pygmy goats and llamas that you can see even if you just visit the café.

The experience with Terry was such great value for money. I brought my own gloves and would recommend you do the same, although the park do provide them. Your feet don't get dirty, and you're given a blanket for Terry to sit on while you feed him his mealworms. My partner was able to take photos and video, and Terry stayed on my lap for several minutes before he finished his food and decided to wander round the park.

You get to follow Terry on his travels for about ten minutes, and then it's back to bed for him. But it's just amazing to see him up close - he's adorable!

You then get a guided tour of the other animals, and our lovely keeper told us all about them and answered all our questions.

For just £60 I thought this was exceptionally good value for money, and it's also great because the animals are kept in such spacious and clean accommodation and seem genuinely happy.

I absolutely LOVED my time with Terry and we'll definitely be returning to do some more experiences.

Thank you so much Sandwich Wildlife Park!
Escrita el 7 de octubre de 2020
Esta opinión es la opinión subjetiva de un miembro de Tripadvisor, no de TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Celidwen1, Thank you for taking the time to review your tamandua experience. Firstly it's wonderful to know that you think we have an incredible park and to know that you found us to be so inclusive and accessible. It's lovely to know that you also enjoyed our café and the variety of food and drinks available there. I'm so glad that you thought your experience was good value, Terri is such a loveable character so I'm pleased that you got to see this for yourself and to know that you enjoyed getting up close and feeding him. We can't wait to welcome you back to our park again soon. Many thanks, Sandwich Wildlife Park.
Escrita el 19 de octubre de 2020
Esta respuesta es la opinión subjetiva del representante de la gerencia, no de TripAdvisor LLC.

Adrian S
Chatham, UK31 aportes
Very expensive
oct. de 2020
My wife and I went on the sloth experience and we both decided it was very expensive for the time you get with the sloth. We got to feed and stroke it but overall were very disappointed with the whole experience. We were met in reception and taken in for are meeting with Sid the sloth. We left his enclosure and rushed round some other animals in the same section. After being given a certificate we were ushered back out into reception. From leaving to returning to reception was 25 minutes. We know the park has to make money somehow but it says you have to arrive 15 minutes early, which we did. In the time we were waiting and the price we paid a free cup of tea or coffee would have been nice. All in all the whole experience was a let down. We would never do one of their experiences again.
Escrita el 6 de octubre de 2020
Esta opinión es la opinión subjetiva de un miembro de Tripadvisor, no de TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Dashcam D, Thank you for reviewing your sloth experience. It's such a shame to hear you were disappointed with meeting Sid, particularly as this experience always gets such fantastic feedback. I'm surprised to hear your complaint centres around the amount of time you spent with our sloth as our website clearly explains that experiences with him last roughly 15 minutes, so this is something you were aware of when you booked it. Unfortunately, if the experience lasted any longer than this Sid would lose interest and we cannot and will not force any of our animals to do anything that makes them uncomfortable. However, we have found that 15 minutes is a great amount of time to be able to feed, stroke and learn more about our boy within his exhibit before he wants to climb back up to the top of his branches for another well-deserved nap. We have checked the cameras and can confirm that you were inside the park for 27 minutes for your fifteen minute experience and ten minute short indoor tour, exactly as it is advertised with a couple of extra minutes to spare. It really is a shame that you decided not to let our keepers or café staff know that you were disappointed on the day so that we could try to help resolve your issues before you left the park. Many thanks, Sandwich Wildlife Park
Escrita el 9 de octubre de 2020
Esta respuesta es la opinión subjetiva del representante de la gerencia, no de TripAdvisor LLC.

Julia T
Stoke-on-Trent, UK22 aportes
Tiger tiger❤️
sep. de 2020 • Solitario
Guided tour very good Holly was the tour guide the main animals for me with the Tigers 🐅 amazing highly recommended
Escrita el 15 de septiembre de 2020
Esta opinión es la opinión subjetiva de un miembro de Tripadvisor, no de TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi juliat355, Thank you for reviewing your guided tour of the park. I'm so glad you liked seeing our park and that Hollie helped you to enjoy your day. It's lovely to know that Duke and Tora were a highlight on your visit, they have such fantastic characters and it's wonderful that you could see this for yourself. I hope we can welcome you back to see them again soon. Many thanks, Sandwich Wildlife Park.
Escrita el 18 de septiembre de 2020
Esta respuesta es la opinión subjetiva del representante de la gerencia, no de TripAdvisor LLC.

Allan H
Rochester, UK47 aportes
Sid Sloth is a real charmer
sep. de 2020 • Pareja
I booked a Sloth experience and afternoon high tea at Sandwich Wildlife Park as part of my wife’s birthday present... she loves sloths.
Fair to say, this was a lovely experience. We were met Georgia, and taken to see Sid the Sloth. My wife was allowed inside his enclosure, and there was a large window through which I could watch and take photos.
Sid seems quite speedy for a sloth and positively raced (well, ambled quickly) to my wife, who had a bowl of apples, cucumber and I think cooked potato for him ( prepared by Georgia). Sid certainly knows how to charm. He interacted nicely with my wife, and thoroughly enjoyed his snack. He seemed to enjoy their interaction, and even let my wife stroke him, and asked for some more when she stopped. Sid is a lovely, gentle soul, and my wife’s time with him was magical.
If you like sloths and good food, I can heartily recommend Sandwich Wildlife park. The afternoon tea was delicious, and our uneaten cakes were boxed up for us to take home. This is a little gem of a place, and we love Sid - he is such a charmer!
Escrita el 11 de septiembre de 2020
Esta opinión es la opinión subjetiva de un miembro de Tripadvisor, no de TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi 79allanh Thank you for reviewing your wife's sloth experience with us. It's wonderful to hear that she had a magical time meeting Sid and that he loved the fuss she gave him and was eager for his snacks too! I hope you got some lovely photo's to help you treasure the memory. It's also lovely to know that you liked the afternoon tea and that you had some left over to take home and enjoy too. It's always great to see our visitors recommending us, thank you and I hope we can welcome you back to see Sid again soon. Many thanks, Sandwich Wildlife Park
Escrita el 14 de septiembre de 2020
Esta respuesta es la opinión subjetiva del representante de la gerencia, no de TripAdvisor LLC.

esra49
Londres, UK67 aportes
Tiger, Tiger, Tiger
sep. de 2020 • Familia
What a great wildlife park. Our tour was a small group of 10 and our guide was excellent, offering an informative and fun narrative for each of the animals. From the anti-social cheetah to the magnificent tigers and everything in between it was a first class visit. Really enjoyed getting up close with the clouded leopard, the wallaby’s, and the nile crocs but without doubt the stars of the show were the tigers. A great way to spend a few hours and excellent value. P.s. the coffee and carrot cake were very good too.
Escrita el 5 de septiembre de 2020
Esta opinión es la opinión subjetiva de un miembro de Tripadvisor, no de TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi esra49, Thank you for reviewing your tour of the park. I'm so glad you enjoyed it and that you found your guide to be so informative. It's lovely to know that you liked such a variety of the animals you saw and that tigers, Duke and Tora stole your hearts. It's always great to hear visitors say they think we offer good value and I'm also very pleased to hear you visited our café and enjoyed the cake and coffee we offer. I hope we can welcome you back again soon. Many thanks, Sandwich Wildlife Park.
Escrita el 7 de septiembre de 2020
Esta respuesta es la opinión subjetiva del representante de la gerencia, no de TripAdvisor LLC.

Mostrando resultados de 1 a 10 de 73
¿Falta algo o hay algo incorrecto?
Sugiere ediciones para mejorar lo que mostramos.
Mejorar este perfil